Swimming with Dolphins after Brunching on Buns Buried in Bunbury

Standard

I left Margaret Rivers in Margaret River at first light, refreshed after a great whale sound aided winks that must have added up to much more than forty: I would hazard a guess that my winks that night reached somewhere in the range of between seventy and eighty, and possibly even more than double the renowned forty.

Burning Rubber Roadrunner to Bunbury

It was a beautiful sunny morning and I felt like cruising down the highway with the wind in my hair. So I shapeshifted into a roadrunner and picked some speed up. However, this of course meant the wind was in my feathers, and I felt a bit of a turncoat against my old hero, Wile E. Coyote, for a while.

Nevertheless, it was a most enjoyable journey down the freeway, and I arrived in Bunbury in time for a bit of brunch. The name of the city made me bun hungry, and I looked for a bakery, after changing into a human; a roadrunner looking for food in the middle of a surprisingly large metropolis would look a little strange.

Buried Buns in the Bunbury Underground

However, a local called Rose Hotel told me that all the bakeries were underground on the edge of town, to keep the produce cool in the hot summers.

So I made my way out to the edge of town and lo and behold, found many underground bakeries with the most deliciously fresh and cool buns. The value of burying buns was clear to see and taste.

Dipping into the Dolphin Discovery Centre

I got talking to a dolphin called Dolly who swam up to the bakery (it had land, sea and air entrances) from Koombanna Bay. It said it was an idyllic spot, and invited me over after we’d finished bun munching.

So I shapeshifted into a dolphin after my last bit of bun fun, and had a wonderful evening swimming in the clear Koombanna waters with a hundred bottlenose dolphins.

Yes, it had been some day, fitting in roadrunning and dolphinswimming either side of biting through a baker’s dozen of Bunbury’s best buried buns.

As I lay on the ocean waves under a starry moonlit night in that twilight time between wakefulness and slumber I thought I heard a dog barking on the distant shore. It’s origins would soon become clear, and lead me on another amazing adventure.

Leave a Reply

