Heading north-west in the Northwest territories

Standard

CT2: Northwest territories

Leaving Nunavut, I headed west, and reached Fort Smith in time for lunch. After that I headed north and reached the southern shore of the Great Slave Lake at Fort Resolution. Resting up there, while watching the wonderful nature around me, lifted my spirits after a hard journey.

I then made my way around the lake, to Dawson Landing and Hay River, before swimming across the lake to Yellowknife for supper.

As the evening drew in, I continued north-west, and reached the Nahanni National Park Reserve by midnight. I climbed the Mackenzie Mountains, crossed the Nahanni River at Lafferty’s Riffle, and marvelled at the Virginia Falls.

It had been an exhausting but invigorating day, and I had reached the border with the Yukon as planned.

About Marc Latham

The Folding Mirror poetry form emerged from the haiku structure in 2007, and the first published poem by Marc Latham was in January 2008. Caroline Gill clarified the form in 2010, while Wendy Webb and the Norfolk Poets have been very supportive in publishing and publicising the form. Claire Knight and Sarah James have also been instrumental in the form's evolution.

Leave a Reply

