Cali, Cali, Cali, Cali, California (to the Hare Krishna mantra tune)

Standard


US 4: California

I’d loved my journey through Canada, Alaska, Washington and Oregon but when I crossed into the northwestern forests of California it felt really special. You know, entering a state where some of my heroes like White Fang, Lassie and Wile E. Coyote (see images, copied from http://www.powerlineblog.com and http://www.allposters.com) live or lived makes it almost like a spiritual home in some ways.

This seemed to give my running an extra boost as I crossed from the Cascades to the Sierra Nevada mountains, and I made it to Lake Tahoe by late morning. I basked in the sun by the lakeside for a couple of hours, and put my feet up. I thought it was a well deserved break from my epic journey, and enjoyed the tranquil setting and idyllic scenery.

As AM turned into PM I decided to get a move on, and soon got into my stride. I passed through Hetch Hetchy Valley, Kings Canyon, Tehipite Valley and Kern Canyon as I ran down the western side of the mountains. Yosemite National Park was particularly awesome, with beautiful waterfalls all around; although I didn’t see anything of Yogi and the gang; probably just as well, as bears can be troublesome, although Yogi seems okay on film.

The Sequoia trees were marvellous to run through, and they really made you feel insignificant; and it takes something amazing to make me feel insignificant I can tell you, being a mythical legendary being.

Then I made my way down to the Mojave Desert and Death Valley, which are beautiful in another way; it was amazing to pass from cool green lush forested mountains down to the desolate hot red rock expanse in a couple of hours, and it made the day all the more special.

The heat didn’t slow my progress at all, and I made it to the south-eastern border by nightfall. It got real cold overnight, but I was warmed by memories of the day; sights, smells and sounds that will stay with me forever. I slept soundly.

About Marc Latham

The Folding Mirror poetry form emerged from the haiku structure in 2007, and the first published poem by Marc Latham was in January 2008. Caroline Gill clarified the form in 2010, while Wendy Webb and the Norfolk Poets have been very supportive in publishing and publicising the form. Claire Knight and Sarah James have also been instrumental in the form's evolution.

Leave a Reply

