Da coat da soothe in South Dakota

Standard

US 17: South Dakota

Crossing into South Dakota I made good progress across the Badlands, which were nice and flat.

Then I made my way up into the Black Hills for lunch at Hot Springs. It was nice to relax after a long morning’s running, and good to put my paws up for a while.

I passed Mt. Rushmore, and it was good to see all those president dudes from time gone by; maybe the greenygrey will be immortalised in such a way one day…only time will tell!

Then I passed through Deadwood, Sturgis and Spearfish on my way down to the prairie.

As I passed Buffalo and Bison I got into a tangle with some buffalo and bison, but my greenygrey coat kept me out of harm’s way, and soothed any knocks.

I made it up to McIntosh by sundown, and camped on the border with North Dakota for the night.

About Marc Latham

The Folding Mirror poetry form emerged from the haiku structure in 2007, and the first published poem by Marc Latham was in January 2008. Caroline Gill clarified the form in 2010, while Wendy Webb and the Norfolk Poets have been very supportive in publishing and publicising the form. Claire Knight and Sarah James have also been instrumental in the form's evolution.

Leave a Reply

