Louise y Anna in Louisiana

Standard

MIMAL 5: Louisiana

I crossed over into Louisiana soon after dawn, and it was already very humid; lucky my greenygrey coat kept me cool.

I made my way down to Monroe, and had brekkie in a diner there. A funny thing happened as I finished off my sunny side up eggs: a blonde waitress called Marilyn had her skirt blown up by a sudden gust of wind. And it had been really still beforehand. Wow.

I then made good progress down to Alexandria, which had a Mediterranean feel to it, before twirling my way over to Baton Rouge.

Between there and New Orleans another funny thing occurred. I had jumped into the Mississippi River to give my weary paws a rest, and was swimming merrily downstream, when I heard a call from the bank.

So I swam over, and one of two women said ‘Do you speak Spanish?’. I replied ‘un poco’ (a little). She then introduced herself and her friend: ‘nosotros (we are)Louise y Anna’, and I did the same: ‘yo (I am) Greengrey’. Then in Spanish they said ‘Beware, there is a big whirlpool further down stream, and nothing can escape from it, not even a greenygrey’.

They looked serious and honest so I thanked them from the bottom of my heart and continued swimming. Then, not ten minutes later, I saw a whirlpool of gigantic proportions, filling up the river, and swallowing everything that crossed its path. So I quickly made my way to the bank, and escaped the liquid trap.

I ran for the rest of the way to New Orleans, and slept on a bayou on its edge.

I had travelled down MIMAL, and thanks to Louise y Anna I had reached my destination.

About Marc Latham

The Folding Mirror poetry form emerged from the haiku structure in 2007, and the first published poem by Marc Latham was in January 2008. Caroline Gill clarified the form in 2010, while Wendy Webb and the Norfolk Poets have been very supportive in publishing and publicising the form. Claire Knight and Sarah James have also been instrumental in the form's evolution.

Leave a Reply

