Tennisy in Tennessee

Standard

TKO 1: It’s technically knock out

Leaving the Michigan rim, I shapeshifted into an eagle and flew down to Memphis, Tennessee. I landed in the Wolf River of course, and went downtown for some brekkie.

I heard some howling coming out of a restaurant, and thought I recognised the voice, and when I entered it was none other than Howlin’ Wolf; I realised I must have time-travelled back to the 50s or 60s without realising it when I flew down.

I left Memphis on the Blues Highway, and travelled up to Nashville. As I passed through I heard Dolly Parton singing ‘Coat of Many Colours’, and thought she must have been speaking about me.

Then I fancied a break from running so I caught a train down to Chattanooga, before heading up into the Appalachians. It was great to be up in the mountains again, and I made good progress up to the north-east of the state.

I passed through Newport to Bristol, and entered into a conversation about a strange game they were playing there. I thought it was kind of golfy, but my acquaintance thought it was more tennisy.

After leaving the game behind I rested up on the border with Kentucky, the second stage of my travel through TKO.

About Marc Latham

The Folding Mirror poetry form emerged from the haiku structure in 2007, and the first published poem by Marc Latham was in January 2008. Caroline Gill clarified the form in 2010, while Wendy Webb and the Norfolk Poets have been very supportive in publishing and publicising the form. Claire Knight and Sarah James have also been instrumental in the form's evolution.

Leave a Reply

