Georgier in Georgia

Standard

MAG 3: Georgia

Crossing the border into the third and final state of MAG, I headed over to Atlanta for a look, and ended up being chased by a CNN news crew, who thought a greenygrey werewolf in town was quite an exclusive. Luckily, my chameleon powers came in handy, and I was able to elude being captured on film; we’re better at that sort of thing than those Bigfoots!

Then I headed down to Peachtree City for a lunch of peaches, and I must say I do dig those Georgia peaches.

Georgia was an old British colony, and I entered into a conversation with a local about what royal name they like the best, and it met a response of ‘In Georgia, we prefer George’.

I then headed south-west to La Grange, where there was a band singing about sharp dressed men, legs, tush, and requesting all our loving. Two members of the band had big long beards, so they looked kind of wolfish, in a gray wolf kind of way.

I then continued south to Lake Seminole, before heading east to the Okefenokee Swamp. It was a bit of a perilous trek through the swamp, with many gators and snakes around, but through diplomacy and camouflage I managed it, and emerged on the east coast of the state and country after a few hours.

I slept the night in Brunswick, which reminded me of New Brunswick, where I had previously camped on the Atlantic east coast, only then in Canada. I’d covered a lot of miles since then, travelling from east to west across Canada, and west to east across the US, so I slept well after a bit of contemplation.

About Marc Latham

The Folding Mirror poetry form emerged from the haiku structure in 2007, and the first published poem by Marc Latham was in January 2008. Caroline Gill clarified the form in 2010, while Wendy Webb and the Norfolk Poets have been very supportive in publishing and publicising the form. Claire Knight and Sarah James have also been instrumental in the form's evolution.

One response »

Leave a Reply

