No’ Carol liner in North Carolina

Standard

C2+V2 2: North Carolina

I left Myrtle Beach at first light and crossed the border into North Carolina. I stopped in Bolivia for brekkie, and had some nice veggie tapas.

I ran over to Carolina Beach, and was going to catch a ship up the coast, but when I went to get on the only ship in port a guard asked my name. I remembered the trouble I’d had in South Carolina, with the ship that only allowed on creatures called Carol, so I said Carol. The guard chuckled, before saying ‘I’m sorry, we don’t allow Carols on this ship’.

I was proper brangled; thinking only Carols in South Carolina, and no Carols in North Carolina, what the heck’s going on?!

Anyway, I didn’t hang around to find out, and made my way inland. Heading up into the Piedmont I came across an old friend as I travelled through the Brushy Mountains; yes, none other than that ol’ cad, Basil Brush. When I told him about my experiences with the ships he said ‘boom boom’, but I said it was no joke Basil, it really happened!

After bidding farewell to Basil I headed into higher mountains; the Blue Ridge Mountains in the Appalachians. After traversing a pine forest I came across an odd couple of characters; one was big and the other not at all. The big one was scolding the other, telling him ‘that’s another fine mess you’ve got me into’. I introduced myself, and they said they’re names were Stan and Ollie. I asked what they were doing, and they said they were on the trail of the lonesome pine, but Stan had just got them lost. I told them I’d seen many pines on my journey, and pointed them in the direction of some lonesome looking ones.

I started making my way down soon after that, and entered Raleigh in time for tea. Everybody was riding around on bicycles there, so I joined in. I enjoyed it so much I rode up to Eden on one. It was so heavenly in Eden that I camped there. I had apple for supper.

About Marc Latham

The Folding Mirror poetry form emerged from the haiku structure in 2007, and the first published poem by Marc Latham was in January 2008. Caroline Gill clarified the form in 2010, while Wendy Webb and the Norfolk Poets have been very supportive in publishing and publicising the form. Claire Knight and Sarah James have also been instrumental in the form's evolution.

Leave a Reply

