Virginier in Virginia

Standard

C2+V2 3= Virginia

Heading over the border into Virginia I started off by having an early morning swim at Virginia Beach, and then headed inland to Chesapeake and the Chesapeake Bay. I passed through Suffolk, Norfolk, Newport News and Portsmouth, and the names reminded me of somewhere.

Then I headed inland to Richmond, which seemed quite affluent, before swimming towards the mountains on the Roanoke River.

Along the way I stopped in the Wolf Trap National Park for the Performing Arts. I was worried I’d walked into a trap set to capture my greenygrey fur, but could relax after a few hours, as I was so fascinated by the performing arts center that I couldn’t leave, and guessed that was what the trap referred to. They asked if I’d been to the opera before, and I replied no, because I hadn’t. They said everybody else had been before, so I was the only newbie in the place.

After leaving there I passed through some dogwood trees, which made me feel at home, before I finally made it back into the Blue Ridge Mountains. I had another reminder of what a small world it is a few hours a later, because I came across the two gentlemen I’d met in the Blue Ridge Mountains further south. I asked what they were doing in the Blue Ridge Mountains of Virginia, and it seemed to set them off into song: telling me they were in the Blue Ridge Mountains of Virginia on the Trail of the Lonesome Pine.

I said oh, are you still looking for the lonesome pine; I saw some dogwood earlier if that’s any help. They said that was a great help, although I don’t know if they were just being kind, before they left. It was the last I saw of them, so I hope they found what they were looking for.

I made it to the border with West Virgina by nightfall, with the end of my journey through C2+V2 in sight.

About Marc Latham

The Folding Mirror poetry form emerged from the haiku structure in 2007, and the first published poem by Marc Latham was in January 2008. Caroline Gill clarified the form in 2010, while Wendy Webb and the Norfolk Poets have been very supportive in publishing and publicising the form. Claire Knight and Sarah James have also been instrumental in the form's evolution.

Leave a Reply

