New Hemp Sure in New Hampshire

Standard

MNV 2= New Hampshire

Crossing into New Hampshire from Maine I made good progress over to Lake Winnipesaukee, and had a fantastic swim in there, changing intermittently from manta to reef shark, or a bright mandarin fish; the latter takes all my chameleon powers to accomplish, as there are so many colours needed to make up a good mandarin fish.

After a bite of lunch I took my time going through Laconia and must have looked quite laconic; I don’t think anybody saw me though, as I’d turned back into my default greenygrey colours, and the surroundings were nicely greenygrey.

As I passed through the countryside I saw a man in a field of crops repeatedly throwing a ball up in the air and then collecting it. I was vexed as to what he was doing, so I enquired. He said he’d used to live in New York, but he’d moved up to New Hampshire because of ‘Catcher in the Rye’. I said it’s a long way to move for such a sport, but he said New Hampshire has great rye fields.

I’m sure there was something cryptic in what he said, but I never worked it out. I started thinking about it on my way down to Concord, but was there before I knew it, so it went completely out of my head…until now.

Anyway, I was travelling so fast my greenygrey fur was falling into my eyes, so I thought I’d buy some rope to tie it. I asked at an old-fashioned wholesale store and the very polite shop-owner said ‘New hemp sure’.

So I tied my fur back with the hemp, and it came in very handy, as I flew from Concord to the border with Vermont, where I would end my journey through MNV. I slept on the banks of the Connecticut River, and nice it was too.

About Marc Latham

The Folding Mirror poetry form emerged from the haiku structure in 2007, and the first published poem by Marc Latham was in January 2008. Caroline Gill clarified the form in 2010, while Wendy Webb and the Norfolk Poets have been very supportive in publishing and publicising the form. Claire Knight and Sarah James have also been instrumental in the form's evolution.

Leave a Reply

