New Jersey in New Jersey

Standard

N2 2: New Jersey

I crossed from New York State into New Jersey over the George Washington Bridge, and had a cranberry breakfast.

Then I hiked up high to High Point, where my greenygrey fur was uncharacteristically unable to keep out the cold. So I bought a nice new jersey at a stall selling second-hand merchandise: it was a Bon Jovi jersey from their ‘Slippery When Wet’ tour. Yes, that was a great album, and there have been many fine songs from the New Jerseyians; in fact, I often sing ‘Wanted Dead or Alive’ when I’m travelling through hunting grounds!

Then I made my way over to Camp Glen Gray, where my grey side had a good time, before heading into the city. Jersey City was great, and I saw Bruce Springsteen play at the Asbury. I mingled in the crowd with other celebrities, like Patti Smith and Lauryn Hill.

As I was leaving the club a little worse for wear a strange creature appeared, looking like a winged horse. It said it was the Jersey Devil, and asked what I was doing in its neighbourhood. I said I was just passing through, but it wasn’t happy with my presence, which was probably down to me being a much nicer looking mythological creature. Anyway, I said I was in a bit of a rush, as I had more states to visit, and gave it my Bon Jovi jersey as a goodwill offering, before bidding farewell and legging it.

I paid homage to the Lenni Lenape culture’s wolf clan as I left the city, and then headed out to the countryside again. I travelled through New Brunswick, which reminded me of my Canadian travels, before swimming and eating in the Great Egg Harbour River.

I ended the day in Salem, where I thought I’d had my lot, as there were vampires and witches all over the shop. Not the kind of thing a respectable vegetarian werewolf needs after a hard day’s hoboing. I managed to get some sleep after letting out an almighty howl that even shocked myself.

About Marc Latham

The Folding Mirror poetry form emerged from the haiku structure in 2007, and the first published poem by Marc Latham was in January 2008. Caroline Gill clarified the form in 2010, while Wendy Webb and the Norfolk Poets have been very supportive in publishing and publicising the form. Claire Knight and Sarah James have also been instrumental in the form's evolution.

Leave a Reply

