Rowed I land in Rhode Island

Standard

Mr.C 2: Rhode Island

Leaving Massachusetts with my chewers intact, I headed down to Prudence Island. It was nice and sunny when I arrived, and I spent a chilling morning relaxing on the beach.

However, a storm brewed up just before lunch, and my prudent decision to buy a canoe and oars was vindicated. So I pushed it out to sea, and paddled up the Narragansett Bay for an hour or two, until the city of Providence was in sight. Just as I was about to reach the harbour a dream I’d had the night before came back into my head, with the thought of me telling myself ‘Rowed, I land’, and then a few minutes later I rowed my last, and landed.

Once back on terra firma I headed into the city, and to keep my grey side quiet I travelled back to the nineteenth century to watch the Providence Grays win the first World Championship in baseball history in 1884. Those were some celebrations.

After that I travelled back to the modern age and travelled up to Pawtucket, where I gave my paws a well-earned rest with a paw spa before tucking in to some tea.

Then I travelled west, with my revitalised paws carrying me at lightning speeds. I headed up Jerimoth Hill, Rhode Island’s highest point, and camped there for the night. It’s a beautiful place, but most of the good spots had already been taken by towel-wielding bugs.

About Marc Latham

The Folding Mirror poetry form emerged from the haiku structure in 2007, and the first published poem by Marc Latham was in January 2008. Caroline Gill clarified the form in 2010, while Wendy Webb and the Norfolk Poets have been very supportive in publishing and publicising the form. Claire Knight and Sarah James have also been instrumental in the form's evolution.

Leave a Reply

