Con Etiquette in Connecticut

Standard

MR.C 3= Connecticut

Crossing into Connecticut I headed down to Lake Candlewood for a morning dip, and enjoyed it apart from the sticky goo floating on the surface; it got on my wick a bit.

I headed north-east after that, and called in at Waterbury for a bit of a rinse, before heading up to New Britain for tea and crumpets.

Energised from some good buttered crumpets and strong cream tea I headed up to Connecticut’s biggest city, Hartford, in super fast time. I saw that the Hartford Wolf Pack was playing Worcester Sharks in an American Hockey League ice-hockey game that night, so bought a ticket and had some supper before going to the game.

As I arrived at the stadium a rough looking shark pushed into me before trying to sell me a dodgy looking ticket. I told it I already had a ticket and it should learn some con etiquette.

I really enjoyed the game, and especially as the Wolf Pack beat the Sharks in a close and good-natured game, although the Sharks did get a bit snappy at times.

It was night-time when the game finished, but I made my way over to the Connecticut River and swam south to the Long Island Sound. I surfaced in Old Lyme, where my greeny side felt very much at home. Even my grey side was quite limey by the time I entered open sea in the Sound. This came in handy when I ended up in Greenwich, and fitted in just perfectly. I slept well.

About Marc Latham

The Folding Mirror poetry form emerged from the haiku structure in 2007, and the first published poem by Marc Latham was in January 2008. Caroline Gill clarified the form in 2010, while Wendy Webb and the Norfolk Poets have been very supportive in publishing and publicising the form. Claire Knight and Sarah James have also been instrumental in the form's evolution.

Leave a Reply

